Extended Diploma In Strategic Management and leadership (QCF) Edexcel Level 7

Edexcel is the UK’s largest awarding body, offering academic and vocational qualifications to more than 25,000 schools, colleges, employers and other places of learning in the UK and in over 100 countries worldwide. Edexcel qualifications are recognised by employers and higher education institutions worldwide.

Stratford College London is proud to be able to offer Edexcel BTEC Level 5 Diploma in Computing and Systems Development course. We are committed to the development of excellence in teaching and learning, and believe these courses offer the knowledge, skills, understanding and expertise needed to compete in the modern, commercial world. These courses are part of the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF).


BTEC Higher National Certificate (1 Year)

The HNC is a level 4 qualification delivered over 1 year. The HNC is an embedded component of the HND, however, it can be taken as a stand- alone qualification. If a student opts to take the HNC they would be eligible to gain a National Certificate after successful completion of a minimum of 8 modules.


BTEC Higher National Diploma (2 Years)

The HND is a level 5 qualification delivered over 2 years, the first year at level 4 and the second year at level 5. If a student opts to take the HND they would be eligible to gain a Higher National Diploma after successful completion of a minimum of 16 modules.


Once you have successfully completed the HND you can continue on to study the third year of a degree or honours degree at a number of UK and International Universities.

Career Opportunities

The BTEC Higher National Qualifications have been developed with career progression in mind.  They allow for progression into or within employment in the business sector, either directly on achievement of the award or following further study to a degree.

This qualification is suitable for students who have already decided that they wish to enter this area of work or for others who wish to use this qualification as a stepping stone in order to enter the specialist area of computing.

Course Structure

The units for this programme focus on how business theory applies in the modern and contemporary workplace. The programme of units aims to offer you the best opportunities for progression, both academically and professionally.

8 Units Year 1 HND (HNC yr 1 only)

  • Business Skills for E-Commerce
  • Computer Systems
  • Employability and Professional Development
  • Emerging Technologies
  • Procedural Programming
  • Event Driven Programming
  • Networking Technologies
  • IT Security Management

8 Units Year 2 HND

  • Information Systems in Organisations
  • Data Analysis and Design
  • Data Structures and Algorithms
  • Project Design, Implementation and Evaluation
  • Web Applications Development
  • Computer Games Design and Development
  • Programming in .NET
  • Network Security


Edexcel Awarding Body Registration and Certification Fees

Registration is the process which formalises entry to the awarding body for Learners for a qualification of a programme subject and level. Certification is the process of claiming a certificate in recognition of a Learners achievement of a qualification. The Registration and Certification Fee is included in the tuition fees.


Entry Requirements

The College will need to review the profile of qualifications and/or experience held by applicants, considering whether this profile shows an ability to progress to a higher level qualification.

For learners who wish to enter the HNC or HND programme, the entry profile is likely to include the following:

  1. Minimum 18 years of age
  2. BTEC or other related level 3 qualification
  3. A minimum of 1 A level, grade A* to C
  4. A minimum of 2 GCSE subjects, grades  A* to C
  5. Equivalent overseas qualification.
  6. Mature learners may present a more varied profile of achievement that is likely to include extensive work experience.
  7. English language proficiency to equivalent to at least IELTS 5.0



Assessment of BTEC Higher Nationals is by assignment, typically one or two assignments per module. These assignments will vary and include a mix of formal reports, presentations and practical tasks, but there will be no formal exams.

All modules will be individually graded as ‘pass’, ‘merit’ or ‘distinction’  To achieve a full qualification you must pass all 8 Modules to achieve the higher certificate and all 16 modules to achieve the higher diploma.


Method of Study
Its includes, for example, lectures, seminars, tutorials, presentations, group discussions, and case study analyses
Duration of the course
Two Years


Start dates:
January, May & September